Wednesday Words: Apocalypse Edition

I have a Wednesday night writing group. We do prompts, and drabbles, and it’s a good time. Everyone comes out with something so different! They’re short snippets – the drabbles are only supposed to be 100 words (eventually I got there!), a warm-up for the later prompt. I’ve decided to post my favourites, because why not? The theme for this particular Wednesday was Apocalypse, and the prompt for the drabble was “Sunshine, Lollipops and Rainbows Everywhere.”

Sunshine, Lollipops and Rainbows Everywhere

At the end of the rainbow, there’s a pot of gold.

At the end of the world, there’s a rainbow.

We sit in the ruins, the radiation rising around us, a haze of inevitable death. I sip my tea. The sun is low in the sky. In the distance, a forest is barely visible – a surviving forest, without the withered and blasted trees that surround us.

My companion leans over and turns off the Geiger counter, and picks up his guitar. He plays. I sing. For now, that is enough.

At the end of the rainbow, there is a forest.

Leave a comment